What's new
What's new

Cleaning and corrosion protection for LapMaster lapping machine

Spud

Diamond
I have a Lapmaster 15 benchtop lapping machine.

What is the best method to clean it and what kind of products should I use and what products should I Not use?

I presume it would be fine to clean the Lapping plate , Lapping Rings and Weights with Acetone?
Isoprophyl Alcohol, Denatured Alcohol ??

I do not have a Parts washer or Ultrasonic Cleaner. So manual cleaning is the only option I have.

Re. Corrosion protection
Is it ok to spray corrosion inhibitors like BoeShield onto the Lapping Plate, Lapping Rings and Weights? What about WD40 corrosion inhibitor? Unit will be stored in a rental garage after cleaning, so somewhat concerned with corrosion due to the climate here.

Thanks

Caveat: I do not know anything about lapping machines.

A good way to store items like this is in a sealed bag or container with a vapor phase corrosion inhibitor. See Bull Frog - The Complete RUST & Corrosion Protection System | Cortec Corporation for these. VPCI deposit a layer a few molecules thick so they will not affect the lapping place clearances or properties. But they get everywhere and are very effective in preventing corrosion without making a mess. I would suggest a Bull Frog Emitter Cup.

PS: I'm not associated with this company in any way, just a satisfied customer.

As Long as you don't reuse the vehicle to much very little cleaning is ever required... we have a lapMaster 24 I use on a semidaily basis. I would avoid doing to much cleaning of the plate, it inherently cleans itself... everything else I use Simple Green on... also fresh lapping vehicle is pretty good at breaking up but he old lapping vehicle