What's new
What's new

Finish on cylindrical grinder

ballen

Diamond
A few months ago I bought a cylindrical grinder: a 1960s era Studer RHU-450. Another thread in this forum describes some of the work I have done to fix it up. Now I'm starting to learn how to use it. My experience so far is limited to two test pieces. One is a piece of 16mm (5/8") steel from the scrap drawer, and the second is a scrap of 12mm (1/2") diameter stainless. The first I did between centers, and the second with a collet.

The finish is not as good as I had expected, and I want to track down why. I'd be grateful for advice from the experts here. It's probably technique or the wheel, but I am not sure. I also have a J&S 540 surface grinder and can get mirror finishes from that without trying very hard.

First off, here is the wheel that came with the machine. This is 300 x 30 x 127mm (12" x 1 1/4" x 5"). I am not experienced at reading the codes, but I think 81A is aluminium oxide, 80 is the grain size, I don't know what the -4 means, G is the hardness (on the softer side) 13 is a very open bond. M is not a bond type that I could identify, perhaps the V means vitrified bond. I removed it from the hub, ring tested it, reinstalled, balanced, trued, and balanced again.

attachment.php

Wheel surface speed is about 28m/s = 92 feet per second = 5500 feet/minute. I am using the recommended pulleys for this wheel.

I am dressing the wheel using the tailstock mounted diamond point that came with the machine. It's about a half-carat made in Germany diamond, looks in good shape to my inexperienced eye.

I am grinding wet, using the same synthetic grinding coolant as on my surface grinder. I did clean out the coolant sump, which has "3 level" system of weirs to trap grit, but is not as extensive a filtering system as on the J&S 540. I don't have any kind of paper or other filter.