What's new
What's new

High spot in plates from surface grinder

BrokeStatus

Banned
So I'm fairly new to surface grinding, and I've only been doing it about a year. Its GRIND-X from Okamoto, and it has been leaving high spots in my plates. 420 stainless, about .003 high in the middle of the plates on a 15x15 plate. I switched out wheels a month or so ago, and have been getting good plates (+/- .0005, but this is the second time the plate has been out. I usually take a .0005 cut up until everything is cleared, since it is rough stock. Then jump down to a higher table speed, .0002 cut, and a small stepover until the plate is done. I know tolerances can be shit if the hydraulics get too hot, but .003 seems very excessive, especially since it is only in the middle of the plate. Any ideas or insight is welcome.

How're you holding the workpiece? Mag chuck? Fixture? Using coolant?

Chances are, the lots and lots of light passes are putting a lot of heat into the part (and 'dulling' your wheel) so if you're taking your finish cut on a hot workpiece, then unclamping it, the distortion isn't showing up until after you're letting go of the part, and/or it has come back to room temperature.

Lots of techniques to avoid this, depending on the situation. You can try:

-Taking finish passes carefully with the chuck off (assuming you're using a magnetic chuck)
-Unclamping/reclamping the part to allow it to 'spring' if you're holding it mechanically
-Taking much heavier rough cuts, and allowing the part to mostly cool before finish passes
-Oodles of coolant will help, if you're currently cutting dry

All of this assumes the obvious stuff - make sure you're stoning the chuck every piece, etc.

If something is off in the grinder (and considering it's one piece every now and again, I don't think it is) you can usually still get a flat part by spinning the workpiece (with the chuck off) between every finish cut, instead of feeding across the piece in Y.