What's new
What's new

Another Mitsui grinder thread - spindle chatter?

50BMG DUDE

Cast Iron
Hi guys,

We've got a MSG200 6x12 grinder in the shop that came out of a toolroom. My problem is I get horrible finishes with it. I've never worked on grinders before. I have tried several wheels and get the same results, bad chatter even with.0005 cuts. Hard or mild steel. Wheels have been trued on the machine with a diamond as usual practice. Chatter gets worse as the wheel is used. Ive tried norton pink 80 and 100 git wheels and i think it has a 60 grit camel wheel on it now.

Where should I start?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Chris,

If you have a 46 grit wheel, start with that. It will be a lot more forgiving for you to learn with.

As far as the chatter, make absolutely sure your wheel is tight and fully dressed. Hjt the wheel with a piece of graphite and then dress it. When you think it is dressed, shut it off and make sure all the graphite is gone from the diameter.

I have seen a beginner mount a wheel not tight enough, and fail to dress it fully. You might think its dressed but in reality you still have to take a lot more before it is true.

So make sure your wheel is tight on the hub, and make sure it is dressed true all of the way. Lightly feel it with your finger too, youll feel if it is running true.

If you do all of that right, then investigate the spindle. Put an indicator on the spindle and check it for runout and radial play. My mitsui has almost .0003 of runout and i can get a decent finish, fyi.

The next thing to check would be related to the table.

Alex

Alex,
Is the runout because of bearings, or bent spindle?
If bent, could you lightly dress the spindle insitu ?

Dan

Agree to try a 46 wheel as the 80 and 100 are very fine. Still they should give a smooth finish going across .0002 with a fresh new facet diamond dress for a few passes..
If a ball way machine balls or ball ways may be dirty or shot.