What's new
What's new

Magnetic chuck fence

jeffers

Cast Iron
What is the best steel to make a magnetic chuck fence out of?
I have a walker ceramax 618.
I am new to surface grinding and I am in the process of setting up a newly acquired Boyar Shultz 618A.
I have leveled and aligned the chuck, there is no runout on the four corners, they agree exactly. There is a hump of 3 thou in the middle.
Should I grind the base and the top or just the top?
I have stoned both the table and the base and there are no high spots, I oiled both surfaces with way oil, maybe there is an oil film that is creating the hump? Maybe wipe clean and re Measure?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

This has been infinitely discussed here. Search Google for "practical machinist" and "grinding chuck". Should keep you busy for a while.

Don't know if it is the best but I use a piece of angle iron with one leg reduced to about 3/16" and ground in place.

Agree the reduced side angle iron is OK for fence.. Clean out the back rail screw holes and use almost that long screws. back rail should end rest perhaps .015 off the chuck top and be able to raise to perhaps 3/32 away..You have to be able to wheel skim it with a grinding wheel when in place...Have special wrench that is shorter than standard length because you don't want to over tighten. two finger tight is a good rule.starting center and working out....put a screw in the holes when not using back rail. Place work all about the chuck not only at front center on the rail..yes have some lay-downs so you can get work away from rail so to use all about the chuck.

You can split the angle with a parting wheel easy enough..down feed on the grind side and go across..watch that end to se that you don't go into chuck..at about .020 left you can break off the waste..

Saying there is a .003 chuck center hump is not very meaning full. Is that the chuck flatness or the travel of the machine long travel.