What's new
What's new

Newbie w/ Workpiece issue

krash86.7

Plastic
I am extremely new to machining of any kind.

I am running a part now that regularly comes out messed up. It has to then be sent to "manual grind" to be finished. Both the immediate super. and office guy have no issues with this. I believe they are wrong and that the grinder should be doing it's own job.

The piece comes out in tolerance but with guage variations at the top end, middle, and bottom end. The messed up pieces have some material that was not removed.

The regulating wheel looks horrible. At least to me, and in my limited knowledge I suggested that it be resurfaced (trued), or whatever that may be. The regulating wheel has some grooves in the middle, and also the outer facing edge looks like little stairs.

I am working on a Cincinnati Milacron Centerless Grinder. (Photo of Serial number for identification is attached)

IMG_20170609_110153.jpg

Up close problem area

IMG_20170608_112604.jpg

Regular size photo

IMG_20170608_112617.jpg

The middle is higher than the ends. They are still within tolerance, but...

I need to know if I am crazy or not.

Both of my immediate supervisors believe that "this is just the way it is". One told me that during the forge process "underswell" is created and that's why this is happening. I would have thought that by using the centerless grinder that this would even everything out. Plus, how can it be consistently in the same area, it's not completely around the diameter of the piece.

My co-worker who is manually fixing them has said that it's normal and not my fault.

So my question is this...

Should I just leave this alone and proceed as instructed, or figure it out myself? (or with some help from people here)

I am generally interested in keeping this job and hope to learn as much as I can about OD Grinding.

Thank you in advance for any replies.

Edit: The workblade is chipped in places on the edge. Not sure if this matters or not.