What's new
What's new

OT, toy for son

motojoel1

Cast Iron
I am treading on shakey ground with this question, I know.

Thinking about getting a cheap 3-D printer kit for my son. As a toy, a learning experience and something to do together. I feel very blessed that he is 16 and still likes doing things with me. He loves the plasma table at work and think he would love this project.

I know this is not a hobby forum, but the only one I belong to and trust.

Any opinions?

Oh, and can I print an axle for my car with it? (Sarcasm)

I've been using a Zortrax M200 printer for about 6 months and am usually pretty impressed with the output compared to pictures I've seen of the competition's printed parts. It's designed in Poland and made in China, but very well built as such things go. Around $2,000 which is probably the high end of the hobby market.

www.zortrax.com - check out their forum for photos of users projects if the price doesn't scare you off. Some of them are pretty impressive.

NASA has a pretty cool gallery of 3D objects that are available for download, though most are probably not well suited to 3D printing.

Models | 3D Resources (Beta)

The working ratchet wrench there that prints as one piece is pretty nifty. Just a toy so far as utility goes but still interesting to see what's possible with the technology. Below is the one I just printed out.

www.thingiverse.com has tons of designs available for free download too.

NASA Wrench 1.JPGNASA Wrench 2.JPG

Last edited:
Your title reads OT. Nothing wrong. I say go for it. What a great gift to a 16 year old. It will have computer control and all kinds of mechanics. Very chalanging and educational in an emerging technology.

2 questions come to mind.

1. What do you envision him creating?

2. How far has 3D printing software come? Is this going to be like giving a 16 year old a seat of Solid Works, or have things gotten easy to draw / create?

Last edited: