What's new
What's new

where to buy nice 3d printers?

RoboMiller

Cast Iron
my shop and i have no experience with 3D printing, but i think it could really help us on a silly family of parts we make. the parts are metal and very different sizes, but thats not really a concern at the moment. but where would a shop buy good metal 3D printers? we would not want a hobbyist machine, would be nice if it was geared more towards a real shop.

i really dont want to get into the parts or requirements. just places to buy them and any experience you have buying and using.

my shop and i have no experience with 3D printing, but i think it could really help us on a silly family of parts we make. the parts are metal and very different sizes, but thats not really a concern at the moment. but where would a shop buy good metal 3D printers? we would not want a hobbyist machine, would be nice if it was geared more towards a real shop.

i really dont want to get into the parts or requirements. just places to buy them and any experience you have buying and using.

Without a requirement its tough to suggest.

I'm with implmex: you can find equipment via Google search but it's $$$

IMO Give it a few years (maybe even decades? CNC took 30-40 years to become a viable option for most shops). Let the government contractors and university labs do their thing and by the time the price drops, It might actually be a dependable manufacturing option.

Stratasys doesn't make 3D metal printers. The price of 3D printers that can do metal is pretty high. If you're actually in the market for a machine that is around $1M minimum you may want to do some more research. Hopefully the price on them will come down soon but the current technology for metal printing hasn't changed vastly in the recent past.

Hi RoboMiller:
Are you aware of the price for "good" metal 3D printers?
I priced out an EOS machine about a year ago...just north of 3/4 of a million dollars US (and that was the little one)