What's new
What's new

I am in the market for a printer

sen2two

Aluminum
I have been looking into 3d printers lately for home/hobby use. I would like to have as large of a build space as possible without going over $800. And the ability to use multiple types of plastics. Accuracy and resolution are also a priority.

Anyone here have experience with this machine or know of better/similar units?

Personal 3D Printer | RigidBot 3D Printer

I'm not an expert but I've seen price tags of machines that are considered "hobby grade" and I think $800 is a little low for a machine that will have decent accuracy or a usable work envelope. Resolution is also a bit relative. You could have a stepper drive that is able to run 50,000 steps per rev and a theoretical resolution of .00001" but it doesn't mean much when you're using cheap stepper motors, rubber timing belts and a plastic or plastic/metal frame that has no thermal or mechanical stability.

I know you can save a few $$ on machines that require assembly but it's not like you'll pay half price. You might want to up your budget closer to $1500 or $2K. That will cover the machine, decent tech support and enough material to allow you to make mistakes while you get the settings right.

You can't even get a makerbot for $800.

The one you linked has injection molded plastic joints, to allow you to expand your envelope. And that's gonna give you what kind of accuracy? Not much, my guess.

You're gonna have to up your budget or lower your expectations...

Personally, when I want cereal box toys, I just buy the cereal, and throw it away, keeping the toy. At 4 bucks a box, I figure its about 1/100 the price I would be paying for a makerbot to make the same thing.
I cant imagine anything that you could make on an $800 printer that would be cost effective, and be usable.
If its a learning experience, sure- its cheaper than I pay for kids textbooks in a year of computer science classes- but its not a tool.