What's new
What's new

Micro 3D printer®

No experience with these, but really for $350 it's almost worth it just to mess with it. As long as the motion system isn't disappointingly cheap quality (wishful thinking?). Off to uTube to see it in action...

cost to run

Just wondering if anyone is using one of these, I saw it and thought it would be fun for home stuff, I'm a machinist by trade but just for screwing around it might be cool.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...9YvdejzGv8dv8SPtQ&sig2=eROsmlPTweNuEu4qKzslVA

Robert
most requires expensive supplies. like paper printer ink costing more than gold per ounce, you rarely hear about costs to run 3D printers.
i got a torch that sprays metal on metal parts. cool ideal but powdered metal is over $50 per lbs. so that what 50 times more expensive than regular steel.
many photographic printer companies were taking a loss selling printers on the often faulty logic they will make money selling ink. a 3D printer if it costs $20 to make a small part how many parts you going to make per year playing around ? 1 part per week thats over $1000 per year for a toy

Most of the hobby-use 3d printers use ABS or PLA filament that costs about twenty dollars a kilogram (2.2 lbs) it's fairly cheap. For instance, this 3d printed guitar weighs about 2.2 KG. So the cost of material would be about 45 dollars. It's very easy to find the associated costs of running a 3d printer.