What's new
What's new

24" Greaves-Klusman lathe questions

whitneyj

Plastic
Good morning All. I've spend a fair amount of time researching lathes in general but these old belt driven units are a bit harder for me to find information for. I'm not a machinist by trade, and barely hobby, so therefore I'm not very familiar with the machine past my basic knowledge. What I'm looking for is general information on the unit, I'll assume hoping for a manual is laughable at best.

I'm also curious about the availability of things such as tool holders, chucks for the tailstock, live centers, a lathe mill attachment, etc. I'm not sure if the ways are a standard dimension so the interchanging of parts from other lathes would be an option?

The issue with my current tool holders (I have 2 and they're mirror images of each other) is it's not perpendicular to the center of the chuck, they angle upward at what looks like a ~20* angle.

I'll assume the taper in the tailstock is just a morse taper?

IMG_1478.jpg
IMG_1479.jpg
IMG_1480.jpg

You seem to me missing the rocker part of the tool post.
Google lantern tool post and look at the images. You will see a piece that fits underneath the tool holder, and mates with the spherical part of the washer. That will allow you to set the tool on center.
It might just be in that box underneath the lathe. Looks like there is another chuck down there..
The lathe looks to be in pretty good shape, or at least was repainted.
Search here on PM and you will find quite a bit of information on Greaves lathes.

Thanks, I'll look in the seemingly countless bins that came with the lathe. I don't remember seeing it however, so I may be on a scavenger hunt to find it.