What's new
What's new

Witherby, Rugg and Richardson Wood Lathe

Langanobob

Hot Rolled
I have this old wood bed lathe that I'm getting started on, need a motor and a bed but those shouldn't be big obstacles.

IMG_0723LR.jpg

I'm completely new to flat belt lineshaft drives and this machine came with I think most, but not all of the parts that I need. One question I have is the belt shifting process. The picture below is from another system, it's very similar to the parts I have and it explains a lot. I'm guessing that there is some sort of pole that allows you to move the belt shifting mechanism? Sure appreciate it if someone could post a picture or a link to the end of the pole. It looks to me like it'll have some sort of fork on the end.

DSC_0071.jpg

Here's another question. Can anyone tell me what the device below is for? I think it may somehow be part of a belt shifting or belt tensioning device but so far haven't figured it out.

IMG_0730LR.jpg

Really looking forward to getting this lathe up and running.

Thanks,

Bob

The middle pix you gave us is not the best - parts are mispositioned and a little less than conventional.

Below see a typical woodworking lathe countershaft.

ax30.jpg

Note here the two forks of the belt shifter are applied to the tight and loose pulleys of nearly the same size. And there is a wooden rod that reaches down in front of the operator and by moving the wooden rod right and left he can move the shifter forks and thus the belt from the loose (idle) pulley to the tight (drive) pulley.

Also note that speed changing is done "remotely" when the countershaft is stopped, usually with the aid of a tall pole with a hook or fork on the end contacting the belt. The operator would shift the lower cone belt position to "loosest" and then use the forked pole to move the upper cone belt position to where he wants it. And then match the position on the lower cone to tighten the belt.