What's new
What's new

Pedestal Grinder ID?

Dan Wyatt

Aluminum
You rave about the pedestal, but you don't show it in the pix :rolleyes: :confused:

Leigh,

I don’t know quite how you could construe any part of my post as a being a “rave” and if you will look @ the lower portion of the first pic you will note the obvious inclusion of 3 vertical lines in the casting which could be --- repeat could be interpreted to be of Art Deco industrial design influence. ----- Dan

Dan, WOW! Massive and is that your South Bend behind it?

I'm not an expert on grinders, but I have seen that same 'art decco' design on a number of machines including early Delta. But, this looks "weigh" too massive to be a Delta.

I see what you mean by art deco design on the pedestal. Looks to date from the forties probably, maybe a bit earlier.

Second Mac's comment, that SB looks great!!

Dry Creek & others,

We are tracking thoughts on a couple of other forums and some believe it could be a Brown-Brockmeyer or early Baldor. ----- any thoughts ----- thanks Dan

Antique Mac,

Yes that is my old 1950 South Bend in the background. Here are 3 better pics. It took a while to restore and I can give more details off forum if you like. It was an old ship maintenance lathe. Notice the somewhat rare factory "A leg" instead of ordinary pedestals and the factory riser blocks taking a 16" to a 24". ----- thanks Dan

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g6/Goodday2You/IMG_0192.jpg
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g6/Goodday2You/IMG_0193.jpg
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g6/Goodday2You/IMG_0198.jpg

--------------------
Dan, WOW! Massive and is that your South Bend behind it?

I'm not an expert on grinders, but I have seen that same 'art decco' design on a number of machines including early Delta. But, this looks "weigh" too massive to be a Delta.

Antique Mac,