What's new

Diamond Tool Company B-12 milling machine April 4 2017

• Thread starter romvlvs771
  • Start date
  • Replies 56
  • Views 14,740
R

romvlvs771

My name is Sergio, I am new to machining and this is my 1st Milling Machine.

Recently I bought a Diamond Tool Company B-12 milling machine.

I have it running and just ran into an issue, maybe someone could shed some light to resolving this issue. This is a horizontal machine with the vertical arm is set and there is a Jacobs #32 3/8 tapered chuck in there I was milling a piece of aluminum and 2 hours into the job the tapered chuck came loose.

Now when I push the chuck back into the tapered shaft, back in I seems to stay but when I attempt to mill again as soon as the milling bit starts to work on cutting the chuck slips off.

My questions are:

How do I remove the taper shaft where the chuck slips into?
(I did remove the screw that apears to be holding the taper rod, but it sitll did not come out)

What options do I have to add new cutting bits, I would like to go to a 1/2" tapered chuck as I have larger bits?

Also does anyone know of a manual for this B-12 ?

I have included some pictures, any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank You,

Sergio

Attachments

• Diamond_Tool_CO_Pic1.jpg
    Diamond_Tool_CO_Pic1.jpg
    86.8 KB · Views: 836
  • Diamond_Tool_CO_Pic2.jpg
    Diamond_Tool_CO_Pic2.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 827
  • Diamond_Tool_CO_Pic3.jpg
    Diamond_Tool_CO_Pic3.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 655
That is how I got the machine, I am looking to remove it and for other options that vertical head can host to use the milling bits, also I believe that drill chucks are threaded as they spin in only one direction and the tapered chucks are used in both lathes and milling machines.