What's new
What's new

Help identifying a lathe

John23

Plastic
Hello Everyone

I recently picked up a little lathe and am hoping to identify the make and model in hope of getting a instruction manual so I can select what threads I want to cut .

The motor and swtich are Australian made with the motor being made by Noyses Bros and the switch being made by Rofo Australia.

All are in matching red which I believe to be original .

Anyway here are some pics and fingers crossed someone out there knows what she is
IMG_3204_zpsgdv3eyqr.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

IMG_3205_zpseyc9ibdj.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

I have never used a machine before which dose not have a gearbox feed/pitch selection.
If the machine is not identifiable is there anyway to simply determine what gear selection will result in what thread?

Thanks in advance

Welcome aboard, John!

I hate to break the news to you, but discussion of hobby-type machines is forbidden on this site. The moderator will be along shortly to lock this thread and slap your wrist. Don't take it personally, it happens a lot. There are a lot of very knowledgeable people here, so it's worthwhile to stick around and learn from pros.

In answer to your question, there are formulae to determine the gear combination required to give a certain thread. Here are some links that may help you:

Change Gears for Threading - LittleMachineShop.com

My Lathe: Threading Gears - Calculator

Ohhh

Guess I will go buy a larger machine and come back to play with the big kids at a later date ! Lol

Thanks for the links !
I will study them and hopefully it is enough to get me though .

I have documented some combos but it is hardly a good system making test cuts.

Thanks

I suppose you could make some machinable wax cylinders and try out gear combinations. Just remelt the scrap to make more test pieces. For that matter wood should be good enough for rough measurements.