What's new
What's new

Please help ignorant Australian identify this lathe!

Pauciflora

Plastic
G'day Fellas,

I'm new to this whole machining thing and are looking for some advice. I noticed this beast for sale by an on-line auction house here in Australia called Grays On Line.

I was wondering if anyone could identify this lathe and if they are considered any good.

It is a good 12 hour drive between my house to the pick-up spot. So I'm trying to work out if it would be worth putting in a bid or two.

Cheers,

Ben

Gap bed lathe with thread cutting, unknown manufacturer, automatic feed, 3 Auction (0012-57192) | GraysOnline Australia

Ben,

Welcome to the forum. Hope you haven't got any flood/cyclone/fire problems in your part of Victoria.

I suggest you go to this site and click on any German makers, and see if any aspects compare exactly with yours:-

Machine Tool REFERENCE ARCHIVE

That's the easy part! Even if you do manage to identify the maker, it won't help a great deal with a decision on whether to buy a 80 - 100 year old(?) lathe!

Unknown "Aussie" Lathe

B.E.Elliot, of Britain.

Older( pre-WW II) version of their "Ordnance Factory Lathe". Many sold into the Empire before and during WW II. I have one, which came down thru the Disposal system, first to a Fruit and Vegetable Sorting Machine maker, then, along with the old fitter who worked it, to our new Factory, 1970,( for maintenance work) then to my workshop, and now on the Farm.

The example shown is missing the Headstock Belt Box cover.

Very simple and sturdy lathe, full gearbox, Horse's head with extra gear wheels, Imperial Threading ( from 4TPI to about 80 or so.).

During the war they were used in all sorts of ordnance applications, mostly for Shell Turning ( the Artillery projectiles); Gap bed added to the versatility.

Ours was fitted with a 415VAC three phase motor, as well as reversing switch; set in the headstock pedestal.