What's new
What's new

Ideas on Parts or a replacement for a 24" Universal L3 4-Jaw Chuck.

icemann0

Plastic
I'm looking to fix or replace a 24" 4-Jaw Chuck on our 1948 American Pacemaker 25 x 72 with a Serial # 71102-48. I am told it was originally equipped with a "Universal" Chuck (Tagged 2140110) but I'm coming up dry trying to replace a broken adjusting screw and guide for one of the Jaws. Adjusting screw is 9-1/4” long and the jaw guide is 2-3/4” long. The jaw guide has 960 or 096 stamped on the bottom. It reads either way. No idea where to get parts and Bourn-Koch is a non-starter. I have also been told it is a L3 connection off the output from the machine by someone on Ebay I was trying to buy a replacement 21" Chuck from that turned out to have a L2 connection. The L3 connection has a 10-3/8" Top Thread and a 10" Bottom V Thread at 4 TPI and an inch of threading. I am open to ideas from the Pro's in this forum as I am not a Machinist by trade. I need to get this machine back in operation at our Valve shop by hook or by crook. If I can find the parts that would be great because I hate to junk this old Chuck. If not, I would be interested in any leads where I could get another 21" to 24" 4-Jaw L3 Chuck so we can start turning again.
IMG_1672.jpgIMG_1673.jpgIMG_1649.JPGIMG_1671.jpgIMG_1648.JPG

Yeah, 18" is going to be too small. We were willing to go down to 21" and I've been hawking Ebay hoping something shows up. I'm not in the business per se so I don't know which Vendors move old equipment. Hoping to find some oldie but goody 21" - 24" L3 Chuck and just swap the whole thing out. I can't go bigger than 24" either. Between a rock and a hard place.