What's new
What's new

OT: Antique Dough Mixer

MacMasterMike

Aluminum
While I love Machine tools I must admit the machines I use for a living, work flour rather than steel. Thats right I am a baker. I make bread to sell as is or in other means for human consumption.

Anyways I have come across an antique age class machine. Made by Glen AMF(American Machinery and Foundry co.) it is, what I feel, a real first class machine. Im sure AMF has a more modern(rather than antique) business model and is a conglomerate of sorts. It seems like they bought out different manufacturing businesses over the years. As a side note in the baking world these machines are virtually worthless because they do not carry the brand name Hobart. Hobart is still in existence while AMF has long sense made a machine like this and no one makes parts etc(though they still kind of do though in a much larger capacity believe it or not(340 qt macines)). While AMF bakery division is in a different capacity(large scale dough assembly line equipment) it still exists, while Hobart still makes machines and is well known. Most pizzerias will have a Hobart machine for their dough needs

SO I have the opportunity to at least spare this machine from the scraper(Free assuming I can move it out). The majority of the equipment that was in this previous grandfathered bakery went the way of the dodo. This is merely a classy machine that has caught my eye. I really appreciate its art deco styling and the vari speed feature. Still works believe it or not and actually has a bronze dough hook. This alone ways 40#+.

I would like to save the machine even though its larger than I really need. I'm just wondering if the experienced community of PM, has for what ever reason, had to move a machine like this. I believe its in the 140QT size range. I would say this machine weighs at least a ton?

Any input would be appreciated. I have pictures listed below.

Beware here is the mixer in all its glory.
4l59ax.jpg