What's new
What's new

Plain bearing sapeed limitation

magneticanomaly

Titanium
Machines with anti-friction bearings can run faster than the old plain bearings, so it is said.

But, why? Engines running at 7,000RPM and turbochargers going much faster use plain bearings, albeit with pressure lubrication.

Why could not an old lathe be run at carbide speeds, if you ran enough oil through it to keep the bearing temperature reasonable (might be messy!)?

You need to think to that those (high speed) lathes also have chiller units to keep the bearings cool. And there is a difference between regular and high speed bearings. Not sure exactly what, (I'm not a rocket scientist)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

As the others have said you can You will probably fail if you do it. You will create a lot of heat. You should look it up in the Machinery Handbook where it has charts on plain bearings and clearance. It all depends on the diameter of the shaft and bearing size or contact area. I would suspect you will have to have the clearance at least .010" as it will get hot and expand. So you won't be able to use it at lower RPM's. Many of the old machines needed a warm up period so the clearance became right. Also we used to start the motor and shut it down and on again to ramp up the machine to speed otherwise the power draw blew the fuses.

I have seen lathe owners that have ball bearing head-stocks that have ruined the bearings by changing the motor RPM. If I were you, save your self a major accident and buy a lathe made to run 7000 RPM. Remember there are sorts of other bearings and mechanics involved in the machine that need to turn at the higher RPM. Very Dangerous if you do it. As the other guy said..."STAND BACK"....lol

Many old plane grinder spindles ran at 3 and even 6k..