What's new
What's new

Please help diagnos an old worthington air compressor problem

pmtool

Cast Iron
This is an old 20 HP Worthington reciprocating compressor. It starts up fine and seem to run well but after it is cut off by the pressure switch it leaks are back from the receiver tank and back out the compressor. As you can see in the photo there is the large compressor outlet hose that fills the tank, and on the top of the tank there is a small line that goes back to the compressor. What does this line do? It sounds like all the air that is leaking out in going through the small tubing. I imagine I have a sticky check valve somewhere? The compressor has been sitting for a while. You can also see from the photos that I probably have a oil leak somewhere as well. I am sure that to someone that knows compressors this is a simple problem but I have little experience with compressors.

Thanks!

comp1.jpgcomp2.jpg

The large line going from the compressor to the tank needs a check valve in it (usually at the tank end) so that when the compressor stops, the air in the tank does not force it's way back thru the compressor outlet valves (one on each head) which are spring-loaded valves that open under pressure from inside the cylinder. You need to confirm that the check valve is not allowing pressure to back-flow when the pump is not actually pushing air into the tank.
The small line running from the tank back to the compressor is called the unloader line. It supplies pressure to hold the valves on the cylinder heads open when the pump is stopped if the pump is controlled by a pressure switch (start-stop mode) or if the pump is running constantly but not pumping (unloaded) because the air pressure in the tank is up to the set pressure. Also, there are diaphragms in the unloader valves on top the heads that can leak.
Hope this helps.
Larry

Thanks Larry,

That gives me an idea of what to look for.

Should the unloader line also have a check valve at the tank?

Justin