What's new
What's new

A question about "old" Starrett and Mitutoyo tools

pillageTHENburn

Plastic
I am not a professional machinist but slowly getting into it (currently restoring a 1912ish Pratt and Whitney lathe).
I've been _slowly_ amassing tools as I can find them for good prices. Today I saw an ad for a machinist toolbox full of tools for $300. I've been trying to do some googling and research to figure out if it's a good value but I figured posting here might be more beneficial based on all the expertise I've experienced here.

Here is the entire ad:

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

"Various machinist tools. Starrett depth gauge, Helios caliper, mitutoyo caliper. Also have 2 Starrett micrometers, 1 Lufkin and 1 large Brown and Sharpe micrometer. Radius gauges and a few other tools along with the Kennedy toolbox. $300"

I have been texting with the seller, it sounds like they are not his tools originally. He said he thinks they belonged to someone who "designed landing gear."

I'm sorry if this is the wrong section, I'm hoping someone here can help me figure out if this is a "go buy that TONIGHT!" Type of deal or a "you should pass that up" kind of deal (or anything in between).

Any advice?

Thank you!

Last edited:
Much depends on what's in the box and the condition. As a point of reference, i bough out an old machinists tools from his family for $250. This included micrometers, dial indicators, v blocks, parallels machinist square, surface guage, shaper/planer guages etc. I also found a box full of drills. reamers, calipers and other stuff for $140. In both of these collections, i had to do significant clean up so don't forget to account for the cost of evapo-rust and your time.

Thank you!
I uploaded the pictures, things look pretty good from the pictures but I haven't seen them in person yet.