What's new
What's new

S. C. Wright lathe

Much akin to Nathan Lang's old page, now mirrored on oocities.

http://www.oocities.org/flatbeltmachines/index.htm

P2230021.jpg

Joe in NH

Hi Folks - I just registered as I was looking for info on this exact lathe - I'm in MI and am looking to get started with my first lathe and have no idea where to start. I love historical pieces and thought this would be amazing.... But, what do I need to know? Should a lathe beginner such as myself avoid a historical piece like this?

Can you direct me to more details on this model in particular?

Sorry for the barrage of questions - I just got excited when I saw this on the forum... been considering registering for years.

Edit to add: By the way - I've been doing restorations of all sorts for several years - I refurbed my drill/mill a few years back... but I'm definitely no expert so any advise would be great. I'll also gladly stay out of the way of a true collector if a pro wants this piece.

- Chris

Sounds like a match made in Heaven. And it would be amazing, I'm sure.

SC Wright is written up in several places on the 'net, including the Vintage Machinery site Fitchburg Machine Works, S. C. Wright & Co. - History | VintageMachinery.org, Fitchburg, MA, Fitchburg, Massachusetts, Past and Present - William Andrew Emerson - Google Books

IIRC Wright himself was an interesting cat in that he had several "familial" problems which were the talk of Fitchburg for some time. He died in 1880.

As SC Wright morphed into Fitchburg Machine Works in 1867, you can definitely say this lathe was made before then.

As to the lathe - remember first that your "shortly to be lathe" has survived VERY well without you. And any modifications you make to this machine are likely difficult to undo, and in their doing/undoing you're "overwriting" history. Think twice about what you do and how you do it.

They're only original once.