What's new
What's new

The United States Lathe Co

egrimm

Plastic
Hi guys, I've been reading for a while but this is my first post so please bear with me.

My dad passed away last fall at 91. I've been living at his home since December trying to sort out what is here. As far as I can tell he had at least one of everything that's ever been invented (and if it hadn't been invented he made one himself)!

Dad was a watchmaker/jeweller by trade "worked in timepieces for 65 years", but his curiosity and thirst for knowledge had him always learning something new.

He has a machine shop, a woodworking shop, close to 100 hit and miss engines - he always bought ones that didn't run because fixing them was the best part. He built classical guitars and took violin lessons when I was young just because he wanted to. Dad was character!!

It's clear that over the years he picked up things that were rare or unique in some way, and I'm having fun trying to figure out what some of them are!

I could go on but I'll rein myself in...

I'm writing today in the hope that someone might know something about the main metal lathe that he used. I'm a good researcher, but haven't found any mention of the company anywhere. It is a flat-belt lathe and is on a cast iron cabinet base with the name cast into the door:

THE UNITED STATES
LATHE

CINCINNATI, O.
U.S.A.​

There is a logo cast into it as well

U(eagle between)S​

I'm going to try to post some pictures. I apologize in advance - they're not very good because there are windows behind and for the life of me I can't figure out how to turn the lights on in his shop!

Any info or thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20170226_170949.jpg
    20170226_170949.jpg
    89 KB · Views: 264
  • 20170226_171053.jpg
    20170226_171053.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 222
  • 20170226_171231.jpg
    20170226_171231.jpg
    95.8 KB · Views: 252
  • 20170226_171226.jpg
    20170226_171226.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 289
  • 20170327_163159.jpg