What's new
What's new

Brittania lathe and oil engine company, looking for info.

140mower

Aluminum
Hello all,
I'm a newbie here and new to lathes in general. However, that's all about to change as i recently purchased this old lathe with the intention of bringing it back into some kind of a workable condition. After a fairly intense internet search I have concluded that not much info exists on these lathes and by searching the forums here I could only find one reference to one Britannia lathe and one shaper, so I'm hoping that some parts will either interchange with other brands or that the parts can be modified to fit my machine, most notably the compound slide on mine is broken in half where the T-nut attaches. Also missing are the feed gears, I have a few , but by no means a full set for threading etc.
Anyway, here are the few things that I do know (or believe that I know), it has a 14.5" swing, a 7' bed and is 54" between centers (I think I measured this part correctly, chuck jaws to tail stock). I am missing the counter shaft that the flat belts ran on, and in it's place came a three speed car transmission and an add-on pulley for v-belts on the head stock I'll have to get some pic's up here of what I'm doing a poor job of describing.
Sorry about the rambling post, that likely only makes sense to me, hopefully I can parlay things a little better as we go along.

Thanks, Don

I'm going to try and put up a couple pics of what
I'm up against.
DadsPic025.jpg

In this pic I'm just trying to jerry rig it together enough to try and fire the old gal up, I've got the motor hanging off of my drill press as a temp stand.

DadsPic021.jpg

Piecing together my new find.

DadsPic006.jpg

This shows the v-belt pulley over the middle step in the old flat belt pulley.

DadsPic007.jpg

Not the best pic of it, but you can see where the compound is broken.

DadsPic010.jpg