Page 5 of 21 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: OT: Crawler tractors

Peter S is offline Diamond

Another way of laying your own track - here is Mr Bramah Diplock's design patented in 1893 (No. 19682), and built as a steam-driven four-wheel-drive, four wheel steer machine in 1898 by Taskers, then re-designed and re-patented (Patent 14710 of 1899) with the "Pedrail" wheels. This is the second machine built, once again four wheel drive, a compound under type engine of 108 ihp and built by Kerr, Stuart, I don't know the date but presumably around 1900. Diplock found that having a differential on each axle was not enough, so added a third diff.

From the classic volume The Development of the English Traction Engine by Ronald H. Clark, published back in 1960.

Side view:

Last edited by Peter S; 01-25-2010 at 03:20 PM. Reason: 1898 was 1899, add info.

northernsinger is offline Titanium

I had skipped this discussion until this morning as I have little knowledge or real interest in crawler tractors except for one peripheral point. Now that I've enjoyed reading this discussion I'd like to bring up this point, though I know it's not what is mostly being discussed here.

Several years ago I bought this antique 16" wood working jointer from an eBay seller:

This machine--as you can see--is marked in the casting 'Waterville Iron Works' and is covered by an 1889 patent. It is the only discussed example of this machine known at present.

In writing this up for the antique wood working machinery sites OWWM.com and OWWM.org several years ago I referred to the Waterville Iron Works and this firm's connection with the Lombard machines you have been discussing here.

In addition, about a year later I purchased another antique wood working machine, a band saw, which is marked Webber & Philbrick, a photograph of which is shown here:

[Both of these photographs are taken from an OWWM.org discussion of them, as being the most easily accessible.]