What's new
What's new

Should I invest in this lathe? Old bradford

Tonymathis1388

Plastic
Hello, my name is tony. This is my first post and only have about a year knowledge in a machine shop so bear with me. Currently I am a diesel mechanic and millwright. My desire to one day open a fab/machine shop mostly for asphalt equipment and truck parts. I have come across an old lathe. It's been sitting on the Oregon coast under a carport for a long time. It's a "the bradford company" 14-16" lathe with approx 48" between centersimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

I'm looking at this and not noticing a threading gearbox. Does this mean it switches gears only on the front side?

Can it have a gearbox installed on this(if I managed to find one)?

The ways are all rust covered but not deep pits. I'm assuming that it would need to be reground. Am I right in thinking it will need to be done?

The cost to regrind and have the carriage mate up with the polymer underside stuff, run around 1200$? California the closest place to get that done?

The guy is offering it to me 4 500$. I'll post more question later. Thank you in advance for reading through or responding. Biggest thing, is it worth restoring this old lathe? Will it fit me as a good starter lathe?

You will never find an O E gearbox, a South bend one might work. Does it come with a stack of change gears? If so why bother with a gearbox? Just scrape the rust off. Lots of of posts on PM about rust removal. No way you will get it ground and Turcite done for 1200.00......... I would not pay 500.00 for it, but I have 3 good lathes and a South Bend already. Good starter lathe? Sure, why not if that is all you can spend. Don't put any more money in it than you have to though, it is a 3-500.00 lathe and no matter what you do to "restore" it, that is all it will ever be worth.

This is a hard question..
And experienced guy can re-build a lathe, certainly. From any condition.