What's new
What's new

Part location wire EDM

e723

Aluminum
Hello,
When it comes to wire EDM, I am a total newb. I wanted to know how you guys locate the parts origin. I do have a ram type EDM which has an electronic edgefinder and also a rotating shaft that I can mount an indicator. Do you use the wire as an edgefinder? How accuratly can you locate an edge?
Thanks

On a sinker, you locate just like you would on a mill with an edgefinder. Touch off the electrode until it makes contact (CNC's have automated functions for this), set an origin point from there, and go. More common these days is to use a conductive probe to locate, then set your offsets from there. Since most graphite machining is done on machining centers these days, the datum points for all of the electrodes are the same and can be easily calculated.

On a wire, the process is pretty much the same. With wire feed on, the axis is moved until the wire makes contact. Again CNC's have automated pickups for this. Divide by 1/2 the diameter of the wire for zero, just like a standard mill edgefinder.

As far as accuracy, if the electrodes and workpeice have good finishes and are perfectly clean, accuracy is .0001 or better in most cases.

e723,