What's new
What's new

basics for getting started

BobM3

Cast Iron
I just purchased a portable Chevalier EDM machine. My initial use will be to remove a bunch of broken taps from parts collected over the last few years. I'm a novice. What fluid and electrodes would you recommend for tap removal?

I am assuming that you are talking about having an EDM hole popper not a wire machine. I like to use an electrode that is sized just big enough to cut the center out of the tap. A three flute tap is usually alot easier to remove than a two flute. You will need to size your electrode according to the size of the tap to be removed. sometimes to remove really big taps, you can pop a series of holes in a line to cut it directly in two, try and cut from chip relief to chip relief instead of flute to flute that will give you something to poke at with your picks. hope this helps. Brian

as far as fluid I am really not sure what you are talking about, most edm's use deionized water that is filtered of all possible impurities to flush the cutting surface. Three most important things about EDMing is Flushing, flushing, flushing. The more ash you can get moved out of the hole the better it will cut.

I like the use of the word "ash" in common762's post. Never heard it called that, but technically he's right. An excellent term for discribing EDM to those who no nothing about it.
The electrode material choice for busting taps would be copper-tungsten rod. Cheap enough and you can get it in all kinds of diameters so you won't need to fabricate anything.
I'm not familiar with that machine, but odds are you will be using a water based coolant. Actually, that is a total guess just going off of the "portable" adjective from your post. Just can't picture oil base Ram's as portable... I use Red Line synthetic hole popping fliud. I get it from Electrodes. I'm sure they would be more than happy to point you to exactly what you need.