What's new
What's new

Older South Bend EDM

Chip Sweeper

Plastic
I have never operated, or seen operating an EDM, so naturally I went out and bought one. It came with no documentation. I have been able to figure out most of the hook up, but have no idea how to operate it. The hydrolics seem to work, the ram will retract when I push the jog button, but I havn't figured out how to make it go down. I also couldn't make the gap power come on, but at the time the dialectric pump was not running, so I don't know if there is an interlock or not. I need to buy some fluid before I can try that part.
The machine is a South Bend Criterion 150. I think I've seen the same machine with the Hansvedt name on it.
Any idea where I can get a manual for this machine? I intend to buy another generic EDM book for operating, but I need something for troublshooting this machine. I work as an industrial electronics technician so with the right documentation I feel confident I can make it work.
If there is a way to post a picture on this forum I can try that to help identify this machine.
Thanks for any help.

It has been a long time since I saw one of those... The Hansvedt power supply does require that the flushing oil pump be on, and it may also have a door interlock switch, and/or an oil level float switch... As I said, it has been quite a few years, since I was around one of those...

The Hansvedt line has been re aquired by the same people who made them before....

Sales & Service

Hansvedt Arrow EDM

802 Veterans Parkway

Rantoul, IL 61866

217-893-4277

Fax: 217-893-1887

Southwest

Sales/Distributor Information

Regional Manager and Distributor

McDermott Inc.

P. O. Box 451989

Grove, OK 74345

800-887-6076

Fax: 918-786-3861

E-mail: [email protected]

Perhaps try them. The South Bend line is what Hansvedt acquired to produce their Benchman series.