What's new
What's new

some questions about EDM machine

Jessie

Plastic
hello everyone,

I'd like to post some question concerning the mechanical structure of EDM machines:

1. How the speed of Z axis affect the machining performance of EDM machine? It's ok if the speed of Z axis is 1.5mm/sec?

2. what type of linear motor driven stages is applicable for EDM machine? Brush linear motor, brushless iron core linear motor, brush ironless core linear motor??

3. I am going to buy a spindle for a micro EDM machine, please recmommend spindle to me.

Jessie,
I can really only answer your first question as I am relatively new to Ram EDM.
Z axis speed effects machining in regards to the removal burnt material from the cutting zone. As the head retracts, if speeds are high enough, a mild vacuum will be created causing debris to follow the electrode out of the cutting zone. This is especially helpful in deep burns where side flushing is all but useless. Of course, through the electrode or through the part flushing will also aid in this type of burn. 1.5mm/sec should be ample.
There is also the obvious answer of "It takes less time for the head to retract and then return to work." This may sound a small attribute, but when you consider how many times the head will need to retract over the course of a long deep burn, those seconds really start to add up.
As far as the linear motor question goes, I believe Sodick is the only one using them. I could be very wrong about that however. Maybe you can look into what type of motor they are using. I can definitely see the advantages of a linear motor on the Z axis of a Ram EDM. That type of movement over a small section of the axis repeated over and over again just smells like heavy wear on any other type of drive system. I really don't see any benefits to using it on any other axis though. I guess if you're burning in X or Y direction... How often do you do that though?? Not very often here...

Hi, Jay, thank you for your reply.