What's new
What's new

Taper problem....Agie

emt2688

Cast Iron
I'm trying to burn a convex radiused lathe tool bit in my Agie 100. So basically I am trying to put end and side relief (5 degrees) in the cutter.

My problem is on one side and the end I get the 5 degree angle. Then on the other side it turns into about 8 degrees. This is one continuos cut.

It does it on rough and trim cuts.

I programed the part using:
P01 S01 D01 T01
P01 S02 D02 T02
P01 S03 D03 T03

P01=05.00 in the job file.

The part starts in -x direction = 5 deg
turns in +y = 5 deg
180 deg ccw end = 5 deg
goes -y = 8 deg
turns -x = 5 deg

As you can see, one place it goes to an 8 degree taper :mad: :mad:

Any ideas why???

I'm totally new to this, and the manuals are worthless asfar as I'm concerened.

How should I actually program tapers.

PS: I did check my wire alignment, and it is aligned in the U and V axis.

[ 10-25-2006, 08:25 AM: Message edited by: emt2688 ]

Tip your part up to 5 degrees to take care of the front clearance (end relief). Program part to taper from 5 degrees gradually to 0 degrees at the bottom of the rad. Then program 0 degrees from the bottom to 5 degrees at the top on the other side. Again with gradual taper. You may need to put a .0001 flat at the bottom of your radius where you are at 0 degrees in order for the wire to have a point to be set at 0 degrees.
I think your problem is a result of trying to tip the wire in two directions at once using standard taper.