What's new
What's new

any problems with coated wire?

dvice

Hot Rolled
I got a sample spool of coated wire to try.. .01"dia...and I am wondering if that coating may clog up my guides or get residure from the flaking coating in my machine and cause problems......I am thinking if it does it cant be that bad, or they wouldnt sell it....but there may be a few small issues that people learn to live with if they are getting something else in return.

thanks

bob

Bob,

I have been using coated wire for 17 years. It has never plugged my guides or flaked off to cause problems. The coating acts as a lubricant and aids in flushing. I don't know what kind of machine you use, but I have Agie's with the open V guides and have never seen any buildup from the wire. I think you will be a happy camper.

TMD

I have a mits FA10...it has round guides....we dont cut enough material to notice filter problems.....we cut small tubes and wires of NITI.... and we cut very small amounts off at that.....we make needle points and cut small tubes at angles and such....like .022 "dia tubes with an .013 ID and similar stuff..

not much debris at all

bob

Bob

The last time I've purchased brass wire was over 2 years ago, and I still have 2 spools left. Other than for aluminum, I use coated wire exclusively.
What's even worse, I actually prefer the flaking coating, as it is a slightly thicker and gives much better results in cutting speed. As long as you keep the maintenance up, there is no problem with clogging, and you can forget about filter issues as the cost savings in the cutting speed makes up for that 10 fold.
My choice of wire is the now nearly unobtainable Sumitomo SZR. Fastest and most reliable thing I've ever found. I soon will have to switch over to Mega D from Gisco. May seem pricey at first at $120 and up for a spool, but again, the speed difference over 12-15 hours of cutting makes brass wires all but useless.
My opinion anyway....

Bob,