What's new
What's new

Need CAM software for Mits H110

G-Auto

Hot Rolled
Gents,

I am just getting into wire EDM with a Mits H110 that I just purchased. The fellow I bought the machine from was a Mits application engineer so he is going to help me set it up.

I am going to need CAM software. I do my designs in Autodesk Inventor and want to take my solid models and transfer to another software where I can develop the wire program.

I can't swing the 8k for Espirit right now or similar. Is there anything out there for 1-2k or so that's good?

TIA

"Good" is such a relative term.

I've used Peps, and currently Esprit, and both of those are quite good. If you just need 2 axis g-code, or standard conic tapering, there are several low end products that would do the trick, like Bob-wire (from the makers of Bob-cad).

If you really want to import solid models and drive 4 axis independent programs, I think you're going to have to spend some $'s. What type of parts do you anticipate burning? This will help decide what you need.

There's a shareware program (G-tech?, I could look it up if you want) that just puts out interpolation data, you would have to manually edit technology settings, offset values, machine specific codes for threading,etc, and copy and paste for multiple trim passes.

HTH, Cheers!

Right now I am only doing 2D shapes, no taper. I would like to ba able to access some of the internal machine controls thru the program such as what Espirit does (or I should say what my limited understanding of Espirit does).

If solids import is big $$ I can alway export an IGES or .dxf from Inventor....that's easy enough.

I am trying to get ahold of the Mecanic people for a price quote but so far no luck. Peps is about 5K. Sould I really look at Bob-wire? I have heard so many negitive comments about Bobcad.

Ill ck out sswire.
thanks

roysol

If you could look up G-tech I would appreciate it.....google search did not turn anything up.