What's new
What's new

Production Parts out of Sheet Steel

G-Auto

Hot Rolled
I have 2000 parts I need to make out of 1/8" thk steel. The parts are small, about 1.5"x1.0" and are heat treated after cutting. What's the most efficient way to wire EDM sheet steel parts like this?

One option is to heat treat alloy steel rounds about 3" long then cut the part shape then baloney cut the parts.

Another way would be to stack 12"x6" sheets about 2.5" tall, compress the sheets in a vise then tig weld the stack together at several locations around the outside. Parts would be cut from the stack of sheets, sent out for HT then kissed on the surface grinder to true them up. I think this way is better than the baloney cut parts.

I am new at this with a recently purchased Mits H110 so any help is appreciated.

TIA

I would stack the stock and cut the parts (your option 2). However, I would heat treat and grind the material before cutting unless there is subsequent operations that require the material to be cut soft.

I second the stacking. I do parts like this all the time, it works great!

I have welded stacks, and also sandwiched them in between a top and bottom plate that's drilled and tapped.

Think about how you're going to hold the stack, if you use sandwich plates, you can make them ovesize so they can be clamped to the table. If you have an EDM style vise, you can grind the sides of the welded stack to true them up.

12x6x2.5 may be a bit too big. The sweet spot for max speed on most machines is between 1 and 2 inches thick, after that you get diminishing returns.

Also, 6x12 may end up with too much bow in the center of the stack, since you can only restrain the edges. I'd be tempted to try a layout 1/4 that size.

Cheers!

Roy Solomon

Gents, Thanks for the replys! Roy I like your sandwich idea. Perhaps I could make the bottom plate thicker (1/2") and have one long side extend so it can be bolted to the table and the sheets extend over the cutting area.