What's new
What's new

Wire EDM Info Needed

GUNDOC_1

Plastic
Hi guys, I'm a brand new Newbie here looking for your input/suggestions. I am looking to buy a used wire machine or possibly job out wire EDM work. My parts are 1.5 dia. roundbar anywhere from 7.5 to 9.5 long but needing a hole pattern through the length. I assume they need a pilot hole for the wire. The tolerance needed is only about +/- .001 on size but need as little taper as possible, preferably under .001. The material is 4140 or 17-4. My question is are there wire machines that have this Z capacity with a fairly small table? What should I look for in models and price? Thanks in advance for your help

The Charmilles 300 Series (non-submerged) I think have that much z travel. A new 310 is around $180k. That's the only brand I know. At that price you may want to farm this stuff out.

What diameter are the holes? The biggest problem you might come up against is drilling the pilot hole and keeping it straight. The thinner, the more difficult.

If it's a large enough diamter that it won't require a secondary WEDM operation to finish and straigten the holes, you might be able to just use an EDM drill (aka, hole popper) to do the entire job.

What's the application for this? Sounds like an interesting part!

Mits.

If you know of a holepopper to make a hole 7.5" deep with less than .001 taper and .001 diameter tolerance, I'll buy 2. Otherwise WEDM is necessary.
From what I've seen, more Z always comes with larger X and Y, so don't think there is anything in the way of small table, large Z.