What's new
What's new

Fanuc vs. Mits

Wirewiz

Plastic
Not real happy with my WEDM and after much shopping I have narrowed my choices down to either a Fanuc or Mits. The Mits is pricier but has better market presence here. I am leaning Fanuc as I think it is a better machine and am pleased with the local distributor test cut results and price. Any Comments??

Thanks.

I tested both and the Fanuc came out on top. The test cut was a 14 inch high piece of 4140. One inch square, 3 straight sides, one with one half degree draft. I bought the machine new in July 2003. It has done well, not perfect but pretty darn good. It will hold less than .0001 all day long if it is maintained. I never ran or owned another brand though so I don't have a benchmark to compare it to. I did contact two houses with both brands, one prefered Fanuc, the other Mits.

G-Auto,
Have you looked at Sodick? I am new to the EDM industry and am in now way an authority on these machines. But I am the happy owner of a new Sodick AQ327L. I almost bought a Mits FA10, I had always looked a Mits as a very respectable name in the machine tool industry (and I still do). So when it was time to up grade my shop with an EDM I naturally went to Mits; plus my tool builder and EDM operator is very fluent with the FA10 so this was another no-brainer. Unfortunately they couldn’t follow through with the package they promised so I had to turn elsewhere. The fact that my employee also ran a Sodick back in the 90’s made them the next choice. The first thing that struck me was how prominently Sodick displayed the guts of there machine in their brochure, I didn’t remember Mits doing this and then I saw why this may have been, the Mits has a much smaller base that the table hangs over much the way a vertical mill is designed. I’m not saying that this makes the Mits a bad machine, I just felt that the larger base is a better platform for holding tolerance over time. It did kind of bother me that Mits didn’t really show what