What's new
What's new

New to CNC machining

MaxNitrous

Plastic
Hi,
I am a performance/racing engine builder and I am interested in an entry level CNC machine. I currently have a genuine BridgePort vertical, a Chinese BP copy, 2 Monarch lathes, and various automotive engine specific equipment such as Sunnen hones, Rottler boring machine, Tobin-Arp valve seat and guide machine (if any of you are familiar with this stuff.) Anyway, I don't know much about CNC programming and I'm looking to get pointed in the right direction. You guys have any tips, book and/or website recommendations? CNC cylinder head porting and engine block machining is getting to be the norm these days and I don't want to miss the boat. Thanks for any help you can provide.
Todd

Just a thought but, in our area, the community college has CNC classes with new equipment. My older brother just took 1 term of Mastercam programming, which was a night class. 1 or 2 terms of class would probably have a guy like yourself up and going easily.

Good luck.

Max
Take a swing over to Mike Lynch's site. http://www.cncci.com/
He has quite a bit to offer. Also you can join us over at cncgurus.com and check out the forum there as well. Hang around and you should be able to pick up some usefull information on this site as well as the others mentioned. When it comes time to buy your machine, get all you can upfront. It is alot easier to do small work on a big machine but it is a real pain in the engine block to do large work on a small machine. I have been known to do a little "inside" work on on an engine or two.
Good luck.

ARB