What's new
What's new

Mazak Options...help?

Valiant

Aluminum
I'm looking to buy my first cnc lathe, and have decided on a mazak, probably the qt-100.
I was able to get a printout of the features, both standard and optional, and though I've been setting up and programming mazaks for 2 years now, I'm not really sure what some of the options are on this printout, or if I might want them. The sheet is from 2003, so I'll assume prices have changed since then? Hopefully gone down?

If anyone could help me answer some questions, i'd really appreciate it. I'm not sure how the machines i use at work are setup, but i'd like something that performs the same to what i'm used to...

High Power Coolant 59psi, 16gpm $1,000
-I plan on machining mostly aluminum, but possibly some stainless and titanium as well. Never having worked with titanium, is this something i should definately consider?
High Power Coolant 118psi, 16gpm $1,500
-If 59psi is good, is 118psi great?
Auto Power Off (breaker trip) $660
-I assume this is a safety feature? Would it be unwise not to have it?
Overload Detection $1,800
-On the machines I use at work, when an operator lets his carbide drill inserts wear into nothing, the machine stops and a red overload message comes up, requiring the machine to be restarted. Does overload orotection prevent this, or is that what the overload protection is?
Turret Air Blast $1,700
-a blast of air from the turret? Why?
Auto Parts Catcher $3,600
-We've got one of these at work, and It's nice. Definately something to consider, but the price seems ridiculous, can they be had more cheaply elsewhere?
Automatic Chuck Jaws Open Close $1,600
-Is this just a parameter option? Without it will I not be able to use a bar puller?
Chuck Open Close Confirmation $1,500
-What is this?
Chuck Air Blast $1,000
-A blast of air from the chuck? To blow parts off?
Main Spindle Synch Tapping $4,800
-Useful for what exactly?
Chip Conveyor Rear $5,500