What's new
What's new

Dripfeed

frankbals

Plastic
Hey all: Thanks for a great forum ! I'm fairly new to Mazaks, I'm the programmer for these machines. Anyway we have 2 new Mazaks...vcm 510, and a 730 variaxis, both I think have the nexis control. I have been told by the operators of both machines, that the largest program they can run is 2mg. But I was told they can load the program into the machine's windows, but cannot run it. Is there a way to drip feed right from inside windows at the control, or what other options are there ?

Thanks,
Frank

The Fusion control is approximately 2megs with a 2gig drive. The Matrix control 2megs with an 8meg option and a 10gig or 20gig drive or something like that. You can set these up to run programs directly from the drive. You have to change some parameters though. It might easier to DNC from a host PC or IC card.
Either, theres a lot of explanation here and machine set up steps involved. Do you have the operating manuals for the machine? In them, you find a section covering HD operation, DNC or IC card operation. It's in the machine operating manual in the second section (not the programming manual). It's under "Option". That section covers all you need.

Thanks......I'll read up on it the minute I get a chance. But wouldn't it make better sense to be able to dripfeed it right from the hard drive, that way the program is in your machine.

Thanks again

Frank, I'm not sure about the VCN510 because it has the Nexus640 control, but I know the Variaxis 730 with the Fusion640 will have the HD Operation Function. It's a pretty handy feature, and more user friendly than a typical drip-feed setup. The major drawback is you can't view the code as it's running. You can only monitor the commands that are coming up on the next line.