What's new
What's new

Variable Speed DC Drive for Oliver motor

pgopinath

Plastic
First post and an absolute beginner in restoring machines.

I will be picking up an older Oliver 25 patternmaker lathe. The headstock spindle is directly driven by a 2HP 230VDC/8AMP motor.

MotorLabelComp.JPG

The motor is supplied from a outboard transformer/rectifier that converts 115VAC to 230VDC. This rectifier unit is a huge 200lb unit that is about 18"x30"x18".

RectComp.JPG

The speed control is through a circular (copper wound?) rheostat that goes 400rpm to 2000rpm.

RheoComp.JPG
RheoComp2.JPG

I am hoping to replace the existing drive electrics (rectifier, rheostat) with a solid state DC drive that would give me speed control from close to zero rpm to 2000 rpm. Ideally, the solid state drive would take 115VAC/230VAC and output the variable DC to the motor.

Even more ideally, I would like to find a step-pulley headstock for this and convert it to a 3phase VFD driven motor but I don't think I will be that lucky. But if someone has any pointers I will take them.

Can someone give me some guidance on sources for the DC drive I am looking for or for alternate ways of doing what I am trying to do?

Thanks in advance
Prabha

One of the most economical ways is an SCR control such as made by KB and relabeled by Baldor and others, both sites will give you the necessary model to pick from, i.e. 120/240, HP etc, some models cover both voltages, you didn't mention if the motor has a wound field, but they also have a field supply.
If you already have a good motor, this may be the best option over a VFD & 3 phase motor.
Depending on what type of control you need, they come in 2 quadrant or 4 quadrant,
The two quad. allows speed control in one direction, the armature has to be swapped over to change direction, the four quadrant gives reversing and braking.
All models offer Tach feedback if you want really precise speed control.
Ebay is a source, or your local Baldor dealer.
M.