What's new
What's new

Need help wiring up this motor

vegard

Aluminum
Hi,
I have a vaccum pump that I want to use for vacuum bagging carbon fiber parts. I cant figure out how to wire it. It is a compton compressor, and I couldnt find any info about it online.
The following is copied off the data sticker on the motor:

Type BCC/2508
V. 115/230
Ph. 1 A. 3.6/1.8
Hz. 50 Wo. 250
RPM 1425
Ins Cl. B BS Frame
Rtg.CONT
Cat. No. D64926 (WS)

It has 4 wires coming out of the motor housing: black, white, brown, and red.

Thanks in advance.

- Vegard
P5170133.JPG

P5170134.JPG

Sure it not a Brook CROMPTON motor?
If so you should be able to get the info easily from them.
M.

It does not say crompton on it anywhere. I see the following labels:
compton
compton compressor Made in England
GEC small machines ltd

sent them an email

Thanks for that link, I will contact them on monday if I cant get this resolved.
I tore the motor open. I am not an expert, but I will describe where each wire goes:

Brown wire: goes to a junction board where it splits, and both wires (one brown and one blue go into the windings

Black wire: Goes straight into the windings

Red wire: straight into the windings

White wire: goes to a junction pin. The first wire of the pin goes into the windings. One wire off that junction feeds the caps in series (one single cap, one double cap(three wires) One wire comes out of the double cap and goes through an rpm switch and back to same pin. The last wire out of the double cap goes to a dead end terminal.

Also, on the junction board, the pins are labeled: T1, T2, A1, A2, T3, T4

Thanks in advance for any help.

- Vegard

Bringing back an old thread... but I tried to get this pump running again today.
I reassembled it and just tried to give it power.

It has a black, a brown, a red and white wire.
I connected as follows (i didnt try to connect to pairs of wires) 120v:

Hot-------Neutral---------- Result