What's new
What's new

15-30 hp phase converter, 2 in 1 ?

carwash

Plastic
Found this ebay auction... Says the converter is a 15 or 30 hp converter as a 2 in 1. Says it runs 15hp, then flip a switch and get 30hp from a bank of capacitors, etc.

Here is the auction...

http://cgi.ebay.com/15-HP-30-HP-ROT...ryZ41952QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

is this a good deal? I have read all the threads i can without my brain melting, including the sticky at the top of the page. I have ZERO electrical experience. Is it possible for me to really build my own, and have it work, for enough savings to not go with a factory built one?

My lathe has a 10 hp motor, so how large of a converter do i need, if planning to do a bridgeport mill as well at a later date?

Any help is appreciated, thanks a lot!

It is a two-idler RPC with a single, unified control.

The same could be done with a shop-made RPC system, and as long as the smallest idler was used to start any remaining larger idlers, you could configure an RPC system with two, three, four, or more idlers, and there would only be one starting means, that which is on the smallest idler.

The controller for any subsequent idlers could be as simple as a fusible safety switch which placed that idler across the three-phase bus, but a properly designed, and interlocked magnetic motor starter would be my choice.

"fusible safety switch which placed that idler across the three-phase bus, but a properly designed, and interlocked magnetic motor starter would be my choice."

ok here's where i feel retarded... i don't know what any of this means, there fore i am afraid to mess with this stuff since it's such high voltage.