What's new
What's new

Need some direction with RPC build.

jminer99er

Plastic
Heck, where do I start?!

Hello people, I have been in the background reading all this great info for about four months, while gathering electrical stuff for a RPC. I am an electrician, but I have no experience with motors or industrial control work. (Starters, relays, contactors) I did take electronics and have a general understanding.

My dad is a machinist. (Likes to build small steam engines and such) He had a static phase converter that smoked about four years ago, and is too frugal to buy new.

He has two, 3ph mills, and a grinder. The grinder is 2hp. His Kempsmith mill is 3hp. His Bridgeport has three motors on it the biggest is 1/2hp.

I just picked up a Baldor EM3313T Super-E 3ph 10hpDP motor, I have a bunch of run caps, and about 800mf for start caps. I have two 60a 3pole disconnects. I have a bunch of Square D magnetic starters, Nema0 (which I think is to small) Nema1 (which gives a 7.5hp at 230v and 10hp at 460) I don’t have any Nema2 . I also have a few Nema3 (which I think are to big)

I do have a three phase distribution panel I’m going to use.

I’m trying to build according to Fitch’s design for now to get my dad started. (Bells and whistles later)

I have a few questions… (a bunch)

What size contactors do I need for the run contactor? What size for the start contactor? Do I only need two contactors? I have two Arrow Hart contactor that says "1ph 240v 5hp, and 3ph 240v 10hp" its rated for 40A. I have a GE that says "40A 240-600V 1 or 3ph" will one of those work? Will 40A suffice for my contactors? I also could rob a contactor off the Nema1 Mag starters if I need to.

Will I need a Steveco pot relay too? Oh, I have a few Potter & Brumfield time delay relays, I’m not sure where they would fit in circuit.