What's new
What's new

Dual Idler 3hp/10hp RPC - Still Learning...

BadDog

Stainless
Ok, first off, I lucked up on a (seemingly so far) very nice 10hp Baldor Industrial "Inverter Duty" motor. This is a sealed case motor, like I want in 2hp for my Grinder. But in any case, the bearings are smooth as silk, and I got it for less than $50.

So, please comment as needed on my general statements. If I'm wrong, please correct/explain in common terms as I am by no means an electrician.

So, after reading quite a bit, and building on what I (hope I) learned with my first 3hp RPC, and trying to merge ToolNuts sketch (below) with my (hopefully) growing understanding, this is what I'm coming to (think I) understand...

Step 1:

Starting with my current functional 3hp GE motor based RPC. I first need to expand my small junction block for a larger "break out" box where it merges with my shop 3ph circuit. All current systems still work, and I can easily build up the extra parts as convenient/necessary.

Step 2:

Modify the contents of this box so that it will now contain additional contactors for controlling which converters are currently "on-line". Since I want to do any combination (3hp, 10hp, 10+3), I need a pair of 3ph contactors there, one for each of the 2 idler circuits.

Add 3 cover switches. 1 to start the 3 hp RPC, 1 to engage the 3hp contactor, and 1 to engage the 10hp contactor.

Now, the "heaters" and run-caps would go behind the relay/contactors so that each is used only when the specific idler is in use. Likewise each load motor would have it's own dedicated heaters.

The 1ph 220V T1/T2/N/G tie into the common distribution buss as shown in ToolNuts sketch. These, plus the generated phase from the idler contactors, feed the shop circuit.

Usage:
1) Light the 3hp motor with the Start switch.
2) Engage the 3hp contactor to generate L3 on the common bus.
3) Run any of the small shop machines (ranging from 1 to 2 hp.