What's new
What's new

Newbie here with a ton of questions about a TM-1

southernmenace

Aluminum
This is my first post, although I have been a fan of the site for a while. This is my situation; A co-worker, and myself, are looking into purchasing a CNC mill to start running a small job after hours. Basically small quantity, small parts to start with. We are both familiar with manual machining, and conversational CNC machining centers and mills ( Hurco, Proto Trak). I have used Haas controls briefly on an SL-40 lathe, but never wrote any programs myself.Our limited G-code exposure was leading us towards an older Proto-Trak equipped knee mill, which seem like they can be found for around 10k. Seems pricey for an older, bare bones mill with limited capabilities. We have the opportunity to buy a 2005 Haas TM-1 with less that 300hrs. on it, for about 15k. The machine is nicer than anything at the shop where we both work! That is our situation, and these are my questions...

1. Is the 2005 TM-1 a good machine? Is the 15k pricetag high,low,fair?

2. Where does it lag, where does it excel? What features are especially useful? What upgrades would you recommend?

3. What type of learning curve will there be having minimal g-code experience, and could you recommend any Haas training, or g-code tutoring sites or manuals, if such things exist?

I am sure that I will have a trillion more questions in the future, and I'll try to find most of the answers on my own, but I sure do appreciate any advise anyone would be willing to lend. Thanks.

Another Newbie

I had a couple of Seiki XL 3 Axis CNC mills with Anilam 1100M controllers on them. That was my first step into the CAD/CAM and CNC world. I am 62 and retired and this was a challenge for me but I have come a long way in the short time I have been into the CNC world. The HAAS TM-1P was my next machine.