What's new
What's new

HAAS Belleville Washers

keijus68

Plastic
First off, I would like to say hello to everyone. This is my first time posting on your forum.

I have a customer that has two HAAS VF-5 50 taper machines that have been running pretty much 24/7 for the last year. They have been running the same part. My company did the programming for the customer and had the machines running up to 9500 RPM's during some of the operation, but not all of it. Maybe 10 minutes out of a 30 minute cycle was at 9500 RPM. There were about 20 tools, so there were 20 tool changes every 30 minutes.

The machines are now in need of service because the drawbar holding pressure was only around 600lbs. The belleville washers need replaced because of the high number of tool changes and they are just worn out, but the customer wants to attribute them wearing out to us running the spindles at almost maximum RPM.

My question is, does anybody have a source of information about these belleville washers and maintainence of them? The wear of the belleville washers vs. spindle speed? The wear of the belleville washers vs. number of tool changes? I need to put a report together for the customer that says we investigated the and can explain to them why these belleville washers are failing and that it is not because of running the machines close to maximum RPM.

Thanks for any and all information I recieve back from this post. :cheers:

First welcome to the forum.

I'm sure this is not the answer you want, but...

If I were in your shoes I'd call Haas directly and ask them why the Belleville Washers failed prematurely. For me they have always been the best place to get my questions answered. Aside fror Haas the factory I would speak with service techs at your HFO.

Hass Belleville Washers