What's new
What's new

"Installing" tools on TL-1

gunsmither

Aluminum
Complete newbie here on my TL-1, so please bear with me. I'm using the Haas Visual Quick Code to learn the basic operations of this machine, as I'm somewhat familiar with the VQC on my TM-1 Mill.

I've followed the Haas manual instructions for touching off the tool; tool number 1 for a simple face and turn job. I've entered all the info in VQC, then I've gone to MDI mode, and punch the start button.

An alarm comes up saying - "install tool # 1" . I thought I'd already "installed" tool #1 when I touched it off on the part and entered the info in the offset page. Seems like I'm missing something here, and the manual is not very helpful, to put it mildly.

I am currently using a Dorian Quick Change toolpost with a single tool at a time. Can someone explain the tool installation/set up procedure? Any help will be most welcome.

Thanks in advance, and Happy New Year to all! Joe

Joe,

One of the first things you have to do when touching off a tool is to make sure the machine KNOWS that is the tool you are using. Just because you told VQC you were running tool #1 doesn't mean the machine knows what tool is installed when you do your offsets. In MDI mode, enter "1" and then "Turret FWD" or "Turret REV". The machine will start beeping at you to change the tool. After you change your tool press the green start button to complete the tool change. Now the machine knows what tool you have on the tool-post. Touch off as required to get your offsets and now you can run your program. It can get ugly if you set offsets using the wrong tool...been there done that.

The intuitive programming is much easier to learn on than visual quick code, in my opinion.