What's new
What's new

Low gear stopped working

Cheenist

Hot Rolled
I have a 1994 Haas VF-2 that won't shift into low gear. I replaced the MAC solenoid valve that controls the shifting...no go. The spindle just oscillates, then alarms out. The alarm is 118 spindle low gear fault. All circuit breakers are on. Any ideas??
Thanks,
Carl

I have a 1994 Haas VF-2 that won't shift into low gear. I replaced the MAC solenoid valve that controls the shifting...no go. The spindle just oscillates, then alarms out. The alarm is 118 spindle low gear fault. All circuit breakers are on. Any ideas??
Thanks,
Carl

Check your incoming air pressure. It is shifted by an air cylinder. Minimum of 85 psi, but maybe a little higher would get it to shift!

Mike

Thanks...air pressure is good. I have owned this machine since new and have done all repairs and service work myself. I'm a fair shade tree mechanic but definitely lack electronic skills.
Carl

I would first determine where the problem is. I am assuming that it is not the solenoid because you already replaced it. The air is good as stated already. The next thing I would do is to manually activate the solenoid. As the spindle is moving back and forth for the gear change, I would take a thin object and press the button on the solenoid. If the machine pops into gear then there is a problem with the power going to the solenoid. If the machine does not go into gear and you are sure it is getting the air, then the shifter in your gearbox is damaged. Replace the gearbox.

I would definitely try to manually activate the soleonoids and/or check for power going to solenoids as suggested by Jason.