What's new
What's new

Questions about Haas TL-2

ksville

Aluminum
I have been doing light machine work for 30 years, mostly gun stuff, contouring barrels, threading, clambering etc. I do not consider myself a machinest by any stretch of imagination. This sight has been extremely helpful over the years. Every kind of answer even a "no" once in a while, but all good solutions.
Here goes- I am having a new TL-2 delivered tomorrow and all I know about this kind of equipment, I learned on utube. I will be using the machine to contour barrels of all lengths, is it possible to send a drawing to a programmer and get a stick back with the program completed? This will be a complete outside demensions before clambering
Let me know what you think
Ken S

If I'm not wrong, the TL-2 (and others) can import DXF. Don't know wether this is an option you have to buy.
Hope my mind isn't playing me tricks!

Depending how complicated the contour is, you can easily program it by hand, directly at the control. G71 and G70 are your friends, together with ",Rxxx" and ",Cxxx".

Nick

I have been doing light machine work for 30 years, mostly gun stuff, contouring barrels, threading, clambering etc. I do not consider myself a machinest by any stretch of imagination. This sight has been extremely helpful over the years. Every kind of answer even a "no" once in a while, but all good solutions.
Here goes- I am having a new TL-2 delivered tomorrow and all I know about this kind of equipment, I learned on utube. I will be using the machine to contour barrels of all lengths, is it possible to send a drawing to a programmer and get a stick back with the program completed? This will be a complete outside demensions before clambering
Ken S

Yes, I am sure there are programmers out there you could hire that will take your print and provide a program for you. I am sure others will chime in about sources for this kind of service.