What's new
What's new

BP jhead 1 hp vram 1956 question about the quill

zotdoc

Plastic
I have A Bridgeport jhead 1 hp with the vram, and I'm a hobbyist. Finally got the nerve to rebuild the head after reading a book, and finding the fine feed quit working. I have stripped the head down to the casing. 2 questions 1 the quill housing initially moved easy enough and I used a copper bar to tap it out from top down - (spindle bearings and quill removed) casing is now stuck just below the fine feed nut opening where I took the setscree out. What happened? 2. My motor works fine - but is covered with black gunk - will cleaning it be worthwhile. Thanks for any response

I have A Bridgeport jhead 1 hp with the vram, and I'm a hobbyist. Finally got the nerve to rebuild the head after reading a book, and finding the fine feed quit working. I have stripped the head down to the casing. 2 questions 1 the quill housing initially moved easy enough and I used a copper bar to tap it out from top down - (spindle bearings and quill removed) casing is now stuck just below the fine feed nut opening where I took the setscree out. What happened? 2. My motor works fine - but is covered with black gunk - will cleaning it be worthwhile. Thanks for any response

Two screws hold the quill skirt in place. Were these removed? The head on one of the screws has been modified so it has a low profile, it must be returned to it's original location during reassembly.

used a copper bar to tap it out from top down-casing is now stuck

Force is always a last resort.
Is the clock spring still engaged?
casing
Referring to the quill?
fine feed nut opening where I took the setscree out
What the what location are you talking about?
What happened?
Is the spur gear for the downfeed clear of the rack on the backside of the quill?
Fine particles and debris may be lodged between the quill and the bore.*
The quill clamp is loose, yes?
John

the fine feed quit working